nomadec.blogg.se

Os x yosemite virtualbox windows
Os x yosemite virtualbox windowsos x yosemite virtualbox windows
  1. #OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS HOW TO#
  2. #OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS MAC OS X#
  3. #OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS INSTALL#
  4. #OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS UPGRADE#

So I'm currently in a position where I've tried to remove all possible causes of the poor performance, and none of them have, so far, made any difference. Restarted (shutdown and a cold reboot this time), but VM performance unchanged. Then I noticed that some processes spawned by Spotlight (enhanced for Yosemite) were chewing through disk space and CPU time, so I checked the preferences of that, and verified that the VM folder is excluded from indexing. Restarted (and the Mac certainly booted up faster!) but the VM performance issues still persist. Then, I thought that iCloud Drive was a new feature to Yosemite, so I turned that off. Checked Activity Monitor to verify that none of these processes were running. To properly isolate the issue I completely removed Sophos (temporarily) and restarted. After inspecting the Activity Monitor, I saw a runaway InterCheck process (part of Sophos Antivirus) which was reading and writing a lot to and from the disk (as it seems that the stuttering was caused by disk activity / interruption). Since my last post, I've tried a few other things to try and isolate what might be causing the problem. I've attached the log after runnning it just. Loukingjr wrote:Can you run W7, shut it down then attach the new vbox.log file? Also, something you can try if you haven't already id run Repair Disk Permissions from Disk Utility.Thanks for your help, loukingjr - I really do appreciate you taking the time to help me!

os x yosemite virtualbox windows

Attachments VBox log for slow Windows 7 performance (18.62 KiB) Downloaded 23 times SpacemanSpiff Posts: 23 Joined: 3. I mention this just in case it's relevant. Setting the Promiscuous mode to any setting made no difference to the performance. Incidentally, I failed to mention that the VM network interface is set up as Bridged Adapter, using the Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop. I've just tried reducing it to 128MB as it was, but it's made no difference to the stuttering or performance issues. I'd set the VRAM to 256MB as I'd tried to use the 3D support under 10.9 ages ago, but it didn't work so I turned off the acceleration but left the VRAM at 256MB. Since then, I've reinstalled the latest version of Virtualbox (4.3.18) and reduced the RAM to 2GB and core count to 1. Nothing had changed in Virtualbox, other than the Host OS it was running on. Running in 10.9 it was fine after upgrading to 10.10 it was slow. In response to your question, it's the identical VM that was run in 10.9. I've attached the VBox log as requested I hope this helps to track down the issue!

#OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS HOW TO#

Please can anyone offer any suggestions as to how to fix this? All help gratefully received! I suspect that something in Yosemite is causing this performance degradation, as performance was great running under Mavericks. I've tried all these fixes but nothing has made any difference. I read on the forums that there were severe network latency issues with a Solaris Guest, and wondered whether this might also be the case with Windows 7 on that post, they said it was fixed by rolling back to version 4.3.16. I've uninstalled and reinstalled Virtualbox. I've tried numerous things to rectify the issue I've increased the amount of RAM assigned to 3GB, and increased the core count to 2, but this made very little difference. Searches in Sage (performed across the internal Gigabit ethernet network) that used to take a couple of seconds now take a couple of minutes or more Windows has noticeable stuttering and lag, and it's generally become unusable.

#OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS UPGRADE#

However, since the upgrade to Yosemite, everything has slowed to a crawl.

#OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS INSTALL#

When running this same VM under OS X 10.9 Mavericks, the performance was perfectly fine: I'm using it to access a network install of Sage Accounts, and everything was working fine. As I'm only accessing network resources, and not having to save any data to the VM, I've created a fixed 25GB VDI, which has 7.85GB free space. I've assigned 1 core to the VM, together with 2GB RAM and 256MB VRAM.

#OS X YOSEMITE VIRTUALBOX WINDOWS MAC OS X#

I'm running a single VM (Windows 7 32bit) on Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite 64bit (iMac 27", late 2011 model: 3.1GHz core i5, 12GB RAM), using the latest version of Virtualbox (4.3.18, including the latest guest additions).

Os x yosemite virtualbox windows